Stamford is situated 61 kilometres south of Hughenden on the Kennedy Development Road to Winton, dubbed the 'Dinosaur Way'. Named after the adjoining pastoral land 'Stamford Ham'. Stamford was originally part of the 'Katandra Station'.
Stamford is a town steeped with Outback history and was once an overnight stop for Cobb and Co Coaches travelling from Hughenden to Winton. A rail line to Stamford was opened on the 13 December 1897 and became a busy railhead for local wool graziers. The Stamford of today is a much more relaxed place with a population of three people and a newly built roadhouse.
Stamford comes alive at its annual Race Meeting held each year in July. Many people travel to enjoy this Outback experience, the charm and excitement of a real country race meeting.
(Information provided by http://www.queenslandholidays.com.au)